Nikki is not coming home.

Yesterday it finally hit me just how awesome this experience is.

After a morning of UCL orientation, a couple friends and I decided to head over to Oxford Circus to do some shopping. First off, this is literally two tube stops from my flat, which is amazing in itself.

When we got off the train, we decided to head over to Marc by Marc Jacobs (even though I’m super poor and really can’t afford it), which is about a 15-20 min walk away from the main shopping area. This little walk took us through pretty much the nicest, poshest area of London. (The cars along these streets – god, I know people who would have died.)

But anyway it was actually a beautiful day (which you know, isn’t all that common in London), and as we were walking along, I finally realized, “This is my life. This is what my life gets to be for the next three months.”

We spent a few hours (and too much money) shopping, and headed back towards our flat for dinner, aka fish and chips and a pint at the wonderful amazing perfect pub across the street.

We’ve been so busy and rushed this first week, that the reality of everything didn’t quite hit until yesterday. As we sat at the pub and one pint turned into two, I realized how happy I am here. It’s unreal.

I can tell already that this experience is going to be life changing. I’m sure that not every moment will be a supremely wonderful as last night’s meal of wonderful fried vinegar-y and cider goodness, but all of this is for real.

I’m across the Atlantic Ocean in one of the greatest cities in the world.

Does life get any better than this?

Leave a Reply

